1980-81 Kansas City Kings Statistics

National Basketball Association (NBA)
Team Record: 40-42
Finishing 2nd in the NBA's Midwest Division of the Western Conference
Postseason: 7-8 Lost conference finals
Conference First Round - Defeated Portland Trail Blazers 2-1
Conference Semifinals - Defeated Phoenix Suns 4-3
Conference Finals - Lost to Houston Rockets 4-1
Coach: Cotton Fitzsimmons (40-42)
Location: Kansas City, Kansas
Attendance: 336,585, Avg. 8,209 in 41 home dates
1980-81 Kansas City Kings Roster
1980-81 Kansas City Kings Results

The Kansas City Kings of the National Basketball Association ended the 1980-81 season with a record of 40 wins and 42 losses, finishing second in the NBA's Midwest Division of the Western Conference. The team compiled a postseason mark of 7-8.

Kansas City poured in 8,769 points and conceded 8,768. Otis Birdsong scored a team-leading 1,747 points for the Kings, while Phil Ford and Scott Wedman contributed 17 or more per game also. Reggie King accounted for 786 rebounds. Phil Ford dished out 580 assists for the squad.

Defensively, Reggie King added 102 steals.

Cotton Fitzsimmons coached the team. The 1980-81 Kansas City Kings lost in the conference finals.

Click on column headings to sort.

Player Totals:

Player Pos GP GS Min FGA FGM 3PA 3PM FTA FTM Off Def Reb Ast Stl Blk TO PF Pts
Otis BirdsongG716725931306710351045531711913925823393181731721747
Scott WedmanF-G81029021437685772520414012830543322697461612941535
Reggie KingF810274386747200386264235551786122102411642271208
Phil FordG66022878874243611354294261021285809962411901153
Ernie GrunfeldG-F7901584486260001017531175206205601588155595
Sam LaceyC8202228536237511179213145358439995120182302567
Joe MeriweatherC-F740151441520600213148126267393772780125219560
Leon DouglasC-F79013563231853018610215023438469253890251472
Hawkeye WhitneyG-F4707823061496265502977106684764898350
Lloyd WaltonG610821218901033261335482083228045206
John LambertC-F43047516065202318276390241251774148
Frankie SandersF-G23018677340022206152117161212088
Jo Jo WhiteG13023682360018113182137111182183
Gus GerardF-G160123511930291913162963672457

Player Averages:

Player Pos GP GS MPG FG% 3P% FT% Off Def Reb Ast Stl Blk TO PF Pts
Otis BirdsongG716736.554.428.669.
Scott WedmanF-G81035.847.732.568.
Reggie KingF81033.954.468.
Phil FordG66034.747.830.683.
Ernie GrunfeldG-F79020.153.574.
Sam LaceyC82027.
Joe MeriweatherC-F74020.549.669.
Leon DouglasC-F79017.
Hawkeye WhitneyG-F47016.648.733.376.
Lloyd WaltonG61013.541.
John LambertC-F43011.
Frankie SandersF-G2308.
Jo Jo WhiteG13018.243.961.
Gus GerardF-G1607.737.

Postseason - Player Totals:

Player Pos GP Min FGA FGM 3PA 3PM FTA FTM Off Def Reb Ast Stl Blk TO PF Pts
Reggie KingF15620248122101027556931492518103549319
Scott WedmanF-G156572971293295640167187581883951307
Ernie GrunfeldG-F1563320198426754115263883094351252
Sam LaceyC155331436030353030901208028233963150
Otis BirdsongG8234985611181181321271202013124
Joe MeriweatherC-F1019949240014812193155793156
John LambertC-F151755422306519183795462149
Leon DouglasC-F1531832150035151847651143184745
Phil FordG5158351510139178295017939
Frankie SandersF-G95018921444152308823
Lloyd WaltonG873154104334719409611

Postseason Player Averages:

Player Pos GP MPG FG% 3P% FT% Off Def Reb Ast Stl Blk TO PF Pts
Reggie KingF1541.349.
Scott WedmanF-G1543.843.428.
Ernie GrunfeldG-F1542.248.850.
Sam LaceyC1535.542.
Otis BirdsongG829.357.1100.
Joe MeriweatherC-F1019.949.
John LambertC-F1511.740.
Leon DouglasC-F1521.246.942.
Phil FordG531.642.
Frankie SandersF-G95.650.050.0100.
Lloyd WaltonG89.