2001 Indiana Firebirds Statistics

Arena Football League (Arena League)
Team Record: 9-5
Finishing 2nd in the Arena League's Central Division of the American Conference
Postseason: 2-1 Lost Semifinal
Coach: Mike Dailey (9-5)
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Attendance: 77,026, Avg. 11,004 in 7 home dates
2001 Indiana Firebirds Roster
2001 Indiana Firebirds Results

The Indiana Firebirds of the Arena Football League ended the 2001 season with a record of 9 wins and 5 losses, finishing second in the Arena League's Central Division of the American Conference. The team compiled a postseason mark of 2-1.

The Firebirds piled up points with 814 points, and the defense conceded 717. Ray Philyaw triggered the aerial attack, passing for 3,518 yards. Eddie Brown paced the receiving corps, snagging 118 passes for 1,540 yards. Greg Hopkins contributed to the receiving game, too.

Leroy Thompson carried the ball for a team-best 162 yards for Indiana.

Jay Jones seized 4 opponent throws. Leroy Thompson topped the defensive unit with 3 sacks.

Mike Dailey coached the team. The 2001 Indiana Firebirds lost in the Semifinal.

Click on column headings to sort.


Player Att Comp Comp % Yds Yds/Att TDs TD % Ints Int % Long Rating
Ray Philyaw40427668.335188.76816.830.7131.8
John Rayborn614472.14767.8813.111.6127.5
Eddie Brown22100.052.52100.000.0118.8


Player No. Yds Avg. Long TDs
Leroy Thompson591622.7 10
Eddie Brown25702.8 8
Umar Muhammad12352.9 3
Ray Philyaw31270.9 3
Jay Jones12424.0 0
Van Johnson284.0 0
John Rayborn471.8 0
Kevin Ingram1-10-10.0 0


Player No. Yds Avg. Long TDs
Eddie Brown118154013.1 37
Greg Hopkins100121612.2 18
Jay Jones5071914.4 13
Van Johnson4547110.5 9
Carl Sacco33010.0 0
Cornelius Coe2105.0 0
Leroy Thompson294.5 1
Kevin Ingram199.0 0
Umar Muhammad111.0 0


Player X/CA X/CM X/CP % FGA FGM FG % Pts.
Nelson Garner1029694.1361850.0150

Kick Returns:

Player No. Yds Avg. Long TDs
Jay Jones4792719.7 0
Van Johnson3376523.2 2
Eddie Brown9637.0 0
Kevin Ingram22613.0 0


Player No. Yds Avg. Long TDs
Jay Jones4174.2 0
Carl Sacco3165.3 1
Cornelius Coe3155.0 0
Greg Hopkins2199.5 0
Lamar Grant2126.0 0
Cedric Walker200.0 0
Van Johnson166.0 0
Greg Williams100.0 0


Player No. Yds Avg.
Leroy Thompson3.00.0
Kyle Moore-Brown2.00.0
Chris Snyder2.00.0
Ricky Hall2.00.0
Carl Sacco1.00.0
Greg Hopkins1.00.0

Defense and Fumbles:

Player Tackle Solo Ast Brup Fum FRec FYds FTD FF
Cornelius Coe11495381221
Greg Hopkins453422314
Jay Jones37.5339320
Cedric Walker34.529111110
Lamar Grant29.5259400
Van Johnson16.5145100
Umar Muhammad15.5135110
Carl Sacco181016710
Chris Snyder12.589001
Greg Williams1178210
Leroy Thompson10.577010
Nelson Garner542000
Kyle Moore-Brown4.541101
Mike Gantous534200
Ray Philyaw330000
Ricky Hall628001
Ray Jackson322000
John Sikora212100
Mark Valvo212000
Aaron Johnson110000
Kevin Ingram110000

Total Scoring:

Touchdowns Other Total
Player Rush Rec Punt Kick MFG Int Fum Other FG X/C Single 2Pt Saf Points
Eddie Brown8370000270
Nelson Garner018960150
Greg Hopkins180000108
Jay Jones0130000078
Van Johnson092000066
Leroy Thompson101000066
Umar Muhammad30000018
Ray Philyaw3000018
Carl Sacco010006


Recent Updates

  • January 14, 2022 - Corrected an issue affecting 2021 NFL kicking and punting statistics
  • January 10, 2022 - Added 1920 APFA through 1929 NFL game results
Football Search