1991 Denver Broncos Statistics

National Football League (NFL)
Team Record: 12-4
Finishing 1st in the NFL's West Division of the American Football Conference
Postseason: 1-1 Lost Conference Championship
Coach: Dan Reeves (12-4)
Location: Denver, Colorado
1991 Denver Broncos Roster
1991 Denver Broncos Results

The Denver Broncos of the National Football League ended the 1991 season with a record of 12 wins and 4 losses, finishing first in the NFL's West Division of the American Football Conference. The team compiled a postseason mark of 1-1.

The Broncos chalked up 304 points, and the solid defense yielded 235. John Elway triggered the aerial attack, passing for 3,253 yards. Mike Young paced all receivers, hauling in 44 passes for 629 yards, while Steve Sewell and Mark Jackson contributed to the receiving game as well.

Gaston Green ran for a team-best 1,037 yards for Denver.

Steve Atwater and Dennis Smith each picked off 5 errant tosses from the opposition. Simon Fletcher topped pass rushers with 13.5 quarterback sacks, leading the way for a team which created 52 sacks.

Dan Reeves coached the team. The 1991 Denver Broncos lost in the Conference Championship.

Click on column headings to sort.


Player Att Comp Comp % Yds Yds/Att TDs TD % Ints Int % Long Sacked Yds Lost Rating
John Elway45124253.732537.2132.9122.7714530575.4
Gary Kubiak5360.0336.600.000.0141879.6
Steve Sewell3133.3248.000.000.0240063.2
Totals45924653.633107.2132.8122.671 46313


Player No. Yds Avg. Long TDs
Gaston Green26110374.063 4
Greg Lewis993763.827 4
John Elway552554.617 6
Steve Sewell502114.226 2
Bob Perryman21452.10
Bobby Humphrey11333.00
Mark Jackson2189.021 0
Shannon Sharpe11515.015 0
Gary Kubiak3113.712 0
Mike Horan294.50
Reggie Rivers252.50
Totals50720154.063 16


Player No. Yds Avg. Long TDs
Mike Young4462914.352 2
Steve Sewell3843611.560 2
Mark Jackson3360318.371 1
Shannon Sharpe2232214.637 1
Derek Russell2131715.140 1
Vance Johnson212089.922 3
Bob Perryman1717110.124 0
Ricky Nattiel1628818.070 2
Gaston Green13786.013 0
Clarence Kay1113912.632 0
Reggie Johnson67312.231 1
Greg Lewis294.50
John Elway12424.024 0
Barry Johnson11313.013 0
Totals246331013.571 13


Player X/CA X/CM X/CP % FGA FGM FG % Pts.
David Treadwell323196.9362775.0112


Player No. Yds Avg. Long
Mike Horan72301241.871
John Elway13434.034

Punt Returns:

Player No. Yds Avg. Long TDs
Vance Johnson241747.220 0
Kevin Clark7679.618 0
Ricky Nattiel10434.317 0
Totals412846.920 0

Kick Returns:

Player No. Yds Avg. Long TDs
Alton Montgomery2648818.855 0
Derek Russell712017.130 0
Kevin Clark24522.529 0
Greg Lewis12020.020 0
Steve Sewell11414.014 0
Totals3768718.655 0


Player No. Yds Avg. Long TDs
Steve Atwater510420.849 0
Dennis Smith56012.039 0
Tyrone Braxton45513.852 1
Charles Dimry33511.726 1
Wymon Henderson25326.553 0
Michael Brooks273.50
Randy Robbins13535.035 0
Le-Lo Lang13030.030 0
Totals2337916.553 2


Defense and Fumbles:

Total Scoring:

Touchdowns Other Total
Player Rush Rec Punt Kick MFG Int Fum Other FG X/C Single 2Pt Saf Points
David Treadwell27310112
John Elway6000036
Steve Sewell22000024
Greg Lewis40000024
Gaston Green4000024
Vance Johnson3000018
Mike Young200012
Ricky Nattiel2000012
Tyrone Braxton10006
Mark Jackson010006
Charles Dimry10006
Shannon Sharpe010006
Reggie Johnson10006
Warren Powers10006
Derek Russell100006