1952 Detroit Lions Statistics

National Football League (NFL)
Team Record: 9-3
Finishing 1st in the NFL's National Division
Postseason: 2-0 Won Championship
Coach: Buddy Parker (9-3)
Location: Detroit, Michigan
1952 Detroit Lions Roster
1952 Detroit Lions Results

The Detroit Lions of the National Football League ended the 1952 season with a record of 9 wins and 3 losses, finishing first in the NFL's National Division. The team compiled a postseason mark of 2-0.

Defensively, the Lions paced the league with just 192 points allowed. Detroit moved the ball well, scoring 344 points. Bob Hoernschemeyer rushed for a team-leading 457 yards, and Bobby Layne also aided the ground game.

Bobby Layne threw for 1,999 yards. Cloyce Box topped pass catchers, hauling in 42 balls for 924 yards. Leon Hart contributed to the receiving game as well.

The sticky-fingered defense created 57 turnovers, topping in the league. Bob Smith seized 9 opponent throws.

Buddy Parker coached the team. The 1952 Detroit Lions won the Championship.

Click on column headings to sort.


Player Att Comp Comp % Yds Yds/Att TDs TD % Ints Int % Long Rating
Bobby Layne28713948.419997.0196.6207.07764.5
Jim Hardy592847.54347.435.158.54953.9
Tom Dublinski6116.7396.500.0116.73914.6
Bob Hoernschemeyer4250.0143.5250.0125.01058.3
Doak Walker2150.094.500.0150.0922.9
Jug Girard400.


Player No. Yds Avg. Long TDs
Bob Hoernschemeyer1064574.341 4
Bobby Layne944114.429 1
Pat Harder812443.022 2
Jug Girard612223.636 2
Jack Christiansen191487.865 2
Doak Walker261064.120 0
Byron Bailey19743.911 2
Jim Doran13636.036 0
Ollie Cline13362.81
Jim Hardy5163.20
Bob Smith3124.010 0
Leon Hart3103.311 0
Pete D'Alonzo571.40
Tom Dublinski133.00
Lindy Pearson300.00
Clyde Scott2-2-1.00
Totals44217804.065 14


Player No. Yds Avg. Long TDs
Cloyce Box4292422.077 15
Leon Hart3237611.824 4
Jug Girard1731618.639 2
Bill Swiacki1721312.526 1
Bob Hoernschemeyer171398.228 0
Pat Harder1414210.122 1
Doak Walker11908.218 0
Jim Doran1014714.731 1
Jack Christiansen33210.711 0
Ollie Cline24522.530 0
Byron Bailey22814.024 0
Pete D'Alonzo242.010 0
Clyde Scott12121.021 0
Bob Smith11818.018 0
Totals171249514.677 24


Player X/CA X/CM X/CP % FGA FGM FG % Pts.
Pat Harder353497.1231147.867
Doak Walker55100.05360.014
Bobby Layne22100.02
Jim Hardy11100.01


Player No. Yds Avg. Long
Bob Smith61272944.766
Yale Lary518136.243

Punt Returns:

Player No. Yds Avg. Long TDs
Jack Christiansen1532221.579 2
Yale Lary1618211.458 1
Clyde Scott3144.714 0
Jim Hill122.00
Totals3552014.979 3

Kick Returns:

Player No. Yds Avg. Long TDs
Jack Christiansen1640925.646 0
Yale Lary1230325.241 0
Clyde Scott36822.727 0
Jug Girard23115.517 0
Blaine Earon3258.314 0
Byron Bailey12323.023 0
Bob Hoernschemeyer12323.023 0
Bob Miller100.00
Totals3988222.646 0


Player No. Yds Avg. Long TDs
Bob Smith918420.490 1
Jim David7486.915 0
LaVern Torgeson510020.034 1
Yale Lary46115.253 0
Jack Christiansen24723.532 0
Don Doll200.00
Jim Hill11515.015 0
Dick Flanagan11414.014 0
Les Bingaman188.00
Totals3247714.990 2

Defense and Fumbles:

Total Scoring:

Touchdowns Other Total
Player Rush Rec Punt Kick MFG Int Fum Other FG X/C Single 2Pt Saf Points
Cloyce Box1500090
Pat Harder211134085
Bob Hoernschemeyer40000024
Leon Hart0400024
Jack Christiansen2020000024
Jug Girard22000024
Doak Walker0035014
Byron Bailey20000012
Bobby Layne10208
Jim Doran010006
Bob Smith0010006
Yale Lary1000006
LaVern Torgeson10006
Ollie Cline100006
Bill Swiacki10006
Sonny Gandee00012
Jim Hardy00101


Football Search

Latest News

WNBA's Shock Relocating to Tulsa
Posted on Tuesday October 20, 2009

NEW YORK, Oct. 20, 2009 - The Detroit Shock will relocate to Tulsa, Okla., and will be owned by a group of investors led by Oklahoma businessmen Bill ...

Shock Advance To Eastern Conference Finals
Posted on Friday September 18, 2009

AUBURN HILLS, MI. - With the Detroit Shock's 94-79 win tonight over the Atlanta Dream, the Shock have swept the Dream to advance to their fourth strai...

Detroit Shock Sign Three To Contract Extensions
Posted on Monday September 14, 2009

AUBURN HILLS, Mich. - Detroit Shock General Manager Cheryl Reeve announced today that the club signed Deanna Nolan, Katie Smith, and Plenette Pierson ...