1987 Indianapolis Colts Statistics

National Football League (NFL)
Team Record: 9-6
Finishing 1st in the NFL's East Division of the American Football Conference
Postseason: 0-1 Lost Division Playoff
Coach: Ron Meyer (9-6)
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
1987 Indianapolis Colts Roster
1987 Indianapolis Colts Results

The Indianapolis Colts of the National Football League ended the 1987 season with a record of 9 wins and 6 losses, finishing first in the NFL's East Division of the American Football Conference. The team compiled a postseason mark of 0-1.

Defensively, the Colts paced the circuit with just 238 points allowed. Indianapolis scored 300 points. Eric Dickerson carried the ball for a team-leading 1,011 yards.

Jack Trudeau threw for 1,587 yards, and Gary Hogeboom played quarterback, too. Bill Brooks topped the receiving corps, grabbing 51 passes for 722 yards. Matt Bouza contributed to the receiving game also.

The opportunistic defense pounced on 45 turnovers. Mike Prior picked off 6 opponent throws. Duane Bickett dropped opposing passers 8 times.

Ron Meyer coached the team. The 1987 Indianapolis Colts lost in the Division Playoff.

Click on column headings to sort.


Player Att Comp Comp % Yds Yds/Att TDs TD % Ints Int % Long Sacked Yds Lost Rating
Jack Trudeau22912855.915876.962.662.6551310075.4
Gary Hogeboom1689958.911456.895.453.07286385.0
Blair Kiel331751.51955.913.039.1210041.9
Sean Salisbury12866.7685.700.0216.71121841.7
Terry Nugent5360.0479.400.000.0211991.3
Totals44725557.030426.8163.6163.672 24190


Player No. Yds Avg. Long TDs
Eric Dickerson22310114.553 5
Albert Bentley1426314.417 7
Chuck Banks502454.935 0
Gordon Brown19854.518 1
George Wonsley18713.912 1
Chris McLemore17583.40
Blair Kiel4307.516 0
Jack Trudeau1570.50
Mel Carver231.50
Gary Hogeboom331.00
Terry Nugent210.50
Bill Brooks2-2-1.00
Totals49721434.353 14


Player No. Yds Avg. Long TDs
Bill Brooks5172214.252 3
Matt Bouza4256913.544 4
Albert Bentley3444713.172 2
Pat Beach282398.516 0
Walter Murray2033917.043 3
Eric Dickerson1313310.228 0
James Noble10787.818 2
Mark Boyer10737.315 0
Tim Sherwin9869.632 1
Chuck Banks9505.618 0
Mark Bellini56913.819 0
George Wonsley5489.616 0
John Brandes5357.013 0
Tim Kearse35618.721 0
Greg Hawthorne34113.721 0
Joe Jones3258.313 1
Chris McLemore294.50
Kelley Johnson11515.015 0
Steve Bryant11212.012 0
Ben Utt1-4-4.0-4 0
Totals255304211.972 16


Player X/CA X/CM X/CP % FGA FGM FG % Pts.
Dean Biasucci2424100.0272488.996
Steve Jordan77100.05360.016


Player No. Yds Avg. Long
Rohn Stark61244040.063
Blair Kiel1244036.750
Craig Colquitt26130.533

Punt Returns:

Player No. Yds Avg. Long TDs
Bill Brooks221366.217 0
Kelley Johnson9424.712 0
Willie Tullis4276.810 0
John Simmons252.50
Dave Ahrens100.00
Totals382105.517 0

Kick Returns:

Player No. Yds Avg. Long TDs
Albert Bentley2250022.745 0
Kenny Daniel1022522.529 0
Terry Wright1018718.727 0
Kelley Johnson69816.328 0
Mike Prior34715.722 0
James Noble23517.518 0
George Wonsley11919.019 0
Jim Perryman144.00
Totals55111520.345 0


Player No. Yds Avg. Long TDs
Mike Prior6579.538 0
Willie Tullis300.00
Freddie Robinson28643.068 0
Eugene Daniel23417.034 0
Bryant Jones22613.023 0
Lee Davis177.00
Johnie Cooks122.00
Craig Curry100.00
Nesby Glasgow100.00
Jim Perryman100.00
Totals2021210.668 0


Defense and Fumbles:

Total Scoring:

Touchdowns Other Total
Player Rush Rec Punt Kick MFG Int Fum Other FG X/C Single 2Pt Saf Points
Dean Biasucci2424096
Albert Bentley72000054
Eric Dickerson5000030
Matt Bouza400024
Walter Murray300018
Bill Brooks03000018
Steve Jordan37016
James Noble2000012
George Wonsley1000006
Joe Jones10006
Tim Sherwin10006
Donnell Thompson10006
Gordon Brown10006
Jeff Leiding00012


Football Search

Latest News

Indiana Fever Complete Trades with Las Vegas and Minnesota
Posted on Monday February 15, 2021

INDIANAPOLIS - The Indiana Fever announced today the team has completed trades with the Las Vegas Aces and Minnesota Lynx.In a trade with Las Vega...

ICRC Acknowledges 2021 Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Indiana Holiday Award Recipients
Posted on Thursday January 07, 2021

Indianapolis-The Indiana Civil Rights Commission (ICRC) and Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Indiana Holiday Commission will be hosting the State of Indian...

Tamika Catchings Honored as Torchbearer Award Recipient
Posted on Monday September 28, 2020

INDIANAPOLIS - Indiana Fever Vice President of Basketball Operations and General Manager, Tamika Catchings, will be honored today as a 2020 Torchbeare...