1980-81 Phoenix Inferno Statistics

Major Indoor Soccer League (MISL)
Team Record: 17-23
in the MISL's Western Division
Postseason: 1-2
Lost Quarterfinal
Coach: Norm Sutherland (7-18)
Coach: Adrian Webster (10-5)
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Attendance: 143,590, Avg. 7,180 in 20 home dates
1980-81 Phoenix Inferno Roster

The Phoenix Inferno of the Major Indoor Soccer League ended the 1980-81 season with a record of 17 wins and 23 losses in the MISL's Western Division. The team compiled a postseason mark of 1-2.

Phoenix scored 210 goals and surrendered 254. Vic Davidson netted 50 goals for the Inferno, while Peter Millar, Peter Marinello, George Nanchoff, Leroy DeLeon and Asghar Namdar each tallied fifteen or more as well. Vic Davidson contributed 29 assists. Henry Westmoreland topped the squad with 11 wins and a team-best 5.64 goals against average, leading goalkeepers with enough qualifying appearances.

Norm Sutherland and Adrian Webster coached the team. The 1980-81 Phoenix Inferno lost in the Quarterfinal.

Click on column headings to sort.


Player Pos GP G A Pts PIM PPG SHG GWG FC BL Shts S%
Vic DavidsonF3050297910000
George NanchoffF253420542000
Peter MillarM4021244553000
Leroy DeLeonF342516414000
John McDermottF4012193116000
Peter MarinelloF251712292000
Asghar NamdarF36188264000
Willie WatsonD348132146000
Peter LechermannD23581312000
Carlos ZavaletaD243478000
Roger VerdiD3824621000
Mike CovoneF172242000
Daniel GastonD3312329000
Al NjieF62022000
Fred PereiraF91122000
Jim CaseyF30224000
Adrian WebsterD170228000
Bob StetlerG11010000
Sergio VelazquezF71010000
Ernst BaptisteF101012000
Rudy Amoresano80110000
Nick OwcharukG150118000
Tom JenkinsF00008000
Tom LytleG40004000
John BoyleM50000000
Van TaylorG60000000
Henry WestmorelandG2100010000


Player GP Min W L GA GAA Shts SVS SV%
Tom Lytle4160:0021155.638854.614
Henry Westmoreland211118:001181055.64885318.359
Nick Owcharuk15818:00211916.67672307.457
Bob Stetler143:000156.984521.467
Van Taylor6268:0022337.3922096.436
Peter Lechermann25:0000336.0041.250
Peter Millar22:0000260.0020.000

Postseason - Scoring:

Player Pos GP G A Pts PIM PPG SHG GWG FC BL Shts S%
Vic DavidsonF34150000000
George NanchoffF364100200000
Peter MillarM32132000000
Leroy DeLeonF32242001000
John McDermottF32130000000
Peter MarinelloF33362000000
Asghar NamdarF30000000000
Willie WatsonD31012100000
Carlos ZavaletaD31122000000
Roger VerdiD30110000000
Mike CovoneF10000000000
Daniel GastonD30000000000
Fred PereiraF10000000000
Tom JenkinsF30440000000
Van TaylorG30002000000

Postseason - Goalkeepers:

Player GP Min W L GA GAA Shts SVS SV%
Van Taylor3180:0012227.3316678.470