1987-88 Minnesota Strikers Statistics

Major Indoor Soccer League (MISL)
Team Record: 31-25
in the MISL's Eastern Division
Postseason: 4-5
Lost Division Final
Coach: Alan Merrick (31-25)
Location: Bloomington, Minnesota
Attendance: 166,050, Avg. 5,930 in 28 home dates
1987-88 Minnesota Strikers Roster

The Minnesota Strikers of the Major Indoor Soccer League ended the 1987-88 season with a record of 31 wins and 25 losses in the MISL's Eastern Division. The team compiled a postseason mark of 4-5.

The Strikers chalked up 274 goals and allowed 252. Hector Marinaro scored 58 goals for Minnesota, while Mike Sweeney, Alan Willey, Steve Kinsey and David Byrne each contributed fifteen or more also. David Byrne accounted for 42 assists. Tino Lettieri earned 24 wins in front of the net for the squad and a team-best 3.99 goals against average, topping goalkeepers with enough qualifying appearances.

Alan Merrick coached the team. The 1987-88 Minnesota Strikers lost in the Division Final.

Click on column headings to sort.


Player Pos GP G A Pts PIM PPG SHG GWG FC BL Shts S%
Hector MarinaroF565823811404125722.6
David ByrneF473542771601820617.0
Alan WilleyF56451964002619123.6
Steve KinseyF4832215360816819.0
Mike SweeneyM542125461403112017.5
Dwight LodewegesD4793443120839010.0
Stan CumminsF35141630601310213.7
John O'HaraD548182680114869.3
Gregg ThompsonD569152420638910.1
Chris DangerfieldF521261840115223.1
Gary EtheringtonD544131816099666.1
Ray HudsonM241151520175420.4
Troy SnyderD405813120163813.2
Jerry AdzicF2966124012128.6
Neill RobertsF314592072317.4
George GelnovatchF15112004425.0
Tom GleasonD1001100470.0
Alex BunburyF1201100040.0
Tino LettieriG0000200070.0
Tony BonoD700000060.0


Player GP Min W L GA GAA Shts SVS SV%
Tino Lettieri442587:5224191723.991069459.429
Tim Harris14764:4575655.10309128.414

Postseason - Scoring:

Player Pos GP G A Pts PIM PPG SHG GWG FC BL Shts S%
Hector MarinaroF9102122101074721.3
David ByrneF8751210202083718.9
Alan WilleyF95380201033016.7
Steve KinseyF94482000012714.8
Mike SweeneyM946104000032317.4
Dwight LodewegesD90884000011120.0
Stan CumminsF931440000102313.0
John O'HaraD9011000002870.0
Gregg ThompsonD91010000014128.3
Chris DangerfieldF9112500002714.3
Gary EtheringtonD9011200001090.0
Ray HudsonM9112000000714.3
Neill RobertsF92022000051020.0
George GelnovatchF11010000001100.0
Tim Harris1430000000000
Tino LettieriG90006000000

Postseason - Goalkeepers:

Player GP Min W L GA GAA Shts SVS SV%
Tino Lettieri8469:5544324.0922798.432
Tim Harris254:380144.44189.500