George Blanda

George Frederick Blanda
Born: September 17, 1927
Youngwood, PA USA
Deceased: September 27, 2010
Alameda, CA
Position: QB
Height: 6'2"
Weight: 215
College: Kentucky
High School: Youngwood (PA)
Career: 1949-1975
Drafted: 1949 in Round 12, #119 overall by the Chicago Hornets
Elected to Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1981

George Blanda played from 1949 to 1975 during his career with the Chicago Bears, Baltimore Colts, Houston Oilers and Oakland Raiders. Blanda threw for 26,920 yards in his career, completing 1,911 of 4,007 passes with 236 touchdowns and 277 interceptions. He also ran for 344 yards in 135 attempts with 9 rushing touchdowns.

Click on column headings to sort.


Year Team Att Comp Comp % Yds Yds/Att TDs TD % Ints Int % Long Sacked Yds Lost Rating
1949NFL Chicago Bears21942.91979.400.0523.844 37.3
1950NFL Chicago Bears100.
1952NFL Chicago Bears1314735.96645.186.1118.459 38.5
1953NFL Chicago Bears36216946.721646.0143.9236.472 52.3
1954NFL Chicago Bears28113146.619296.9155.3176.076 62.1
1955NFL Chicago Bears974243.34594.744.177.251 41.6
1956NFL Chicago Bears693753.64396.4710.145.869 82.9
1957NFL Chicago Bears19842.1653.400.0315.813 11.8
1958NFL Chicago Bears7228.6192.700.000.012 39.6
1960AFL Houston Oilers36316946.624136.6246.6226.188 65.4
1961AFL Houston Oilers36218751.733309.2369.9226.180 91.3
1962AFL Houston Oilers41819747.128106.7276.54210.078 51.3
1963AFL Houston Oilers42322453.030037.1245.7255.980 70.1
1964AFL Houston Oilers50526251.932876.5173.4275.380 61.4
1965AFL Houston Oilers44218642.125425.8204.5306.895 47.9
1966AFL Houston Oilers27112245.017646.5176.3217.779 55.3
1967AFL Oakland Raiders381539.52857.537.937.950 59.6
1968AFL Oakland Raiders493061.252210.7612.224.194 120.1
1969AFL Oakland Raiders13646.2735.6215.417.720 1471.5
1970NFL Oakland Raiders552952.74618.4610.959.144 43779.4
1971NFL Oakland Raiders583255.23786.546.9610.337 22658.6
1972NFL Oakland Raiders15533.3775.116.700.026 21973.5
1974NFL Oakland Raiders4125.0287.0125.000.028 0095.8
1975NFL Oakland Raiders3133.3113.700.0133.311 385.6
NFL112351345.768916.1605.3827.376 1190
AFL2884139848.5200296.91766.11956.895 14
Totals4007191147.7269206.72365.92776.995 1294


Year Team No. Yds Avg. Long TDs
1949NFL Chicago Bears294.51
1952NFL Chicago Bears201045.216 1
1953NFL Chicago Bears24622.616 0
1954NFL Chicago Bears19412.219 0
1955NFL Chicago Bears15543.610 2
1956NFL Chicago Bears6477.817 0
1957NFL Chicago Bears5-5-1.01
1960AFL Houston Oilers16161.04
1961AFL Houston Oilers7121.70
1962AFL Houston Oilers362.010 0
1963AFL Houston Oilers410.20
1964AFL Houston Oilers4-2-0.50
1965AFL Houston Oilers4-6-1.50
1966AFL Houston Oilers310.30
1969AFL Oakland Raiders100.00
1970NFL Oakland Raiders242.00
NFL933163.419 5
AFL42280.710 4
Totals1353442.519 9


Year Team No. Yds Avg. Long TDs
1953NFL Chicago Bears7 0
1961AFL Houston Oilers1-16-16.0-16 0
1964AFL Houston Oilers-7 0


Year Team X/CA X/CM X/CP % FGA FGM FG % Pts.
1949NFL Chicago Bears15746.721
1950NFL Chicago Bears15640.018
1951NFL Chicago Bears2626100.017635.344
1952NFL Chicago Bears3030100.025624.048
1953NFL Chicago Bears2727100.020735.048
1954NFL Chicago Bears2323100.016850.047
1955NFL Chicago Bears3737100.0161168.870
1956NFL Chicago Bears474595.7281242.981
1957NFL Chicago Bears2323100.0261453.865
1958NFL Chicago Bears373697.3231147.869
1960AFL Houston Oilers474697.9331545.591
1961AFL Houston Oilers656498.5261661.5112
1962AFL Houston Oilers494898.0261142.381
1963AFL Houston Oilers3939100.024937.566
1964AFL Houston Oilers383797.4291344.876
1965AFL Houston Oilers2828100.0211152.461
1966AFL Houston Oilers403997.5301653.387
1967AFL Oakland Raiders575698.2302066.7116
1968AFL Oakland Raiders5454100.0342161.8117
1969AFL Oakland Raiders4545100.0372054.1105
1970NFL Oakland Raiders3636100.0291655.284
1971NFL Oakland Raiders424197.6221568.286
1972NFL Oakland Raiders4444100.0261765.495
1973NFL Oakland Raiders3131100.0332369.7100
1974NFL Oakland Raiders464495.7171164.777
1975NFL Oakland Raiders484491.7211361.983


Year Team No. Yds Avg. Long
1949NFL Chicago Bears1974639.357
1950NFL Chicago Bears23015.030
1956NFL Chicago Bears13333.033

Kick Returns:

Year Team No. Yds Avg. Long TDs
1951NFL Chicago Bears2199.517 0
NFL2199.517 0
Totals2199.517 0


Year Team No. Yds Avg. Long TDs
1951NFL Chicago Bears11313.013 0
NFL11313.013 0
Totals11313.013 0

Defense and Fumbles:

Total Scoring:

Touchdowns Other Total
Year Team Rush Rec Punt Kick MFG Int Fum Other FG X/C Single 2Pt Saf Points
1949NFL Chicago Bears1070027
1950NFL Chicago Bears060018
1951NFL Chicago Bears000626044
1952NFL Chicago Bears10630054
1953NFL Chicago Bears000727048
1954NFL Chicago Bears00823047
1955NFL Chicago Bears201137082
1956NFL Chicago Bears001245081
1957NFL Chicago Bears101423071
1958NFL Chicago Bears01136069
1960AFL Houston Oilers4015460115
1961AFL Houston Oilers00016640112
1962AFL Houston Oilers001148081
1963AFL Houston Oilers00939066
1964AFL Houston Oilers0001337076
1965AFL Houston Oilers001128061
1966AFL Houston Oilers001639087
1967AFL Oakland Raiders020560116
1968AFL Oakland Raiders021540117
1969AFL Oakland Raiders0020450105
1970NFL Oakland Raiders001636084
1971NFL Oakland Raiders01541086
1972NFL Oakland Raiders01744095
1973NFL Oakland Raiders023310100
1974NFL Oakland Raiders01144077
1975NFL Oakland Raiders01344083

Playing Career:

Year League Team GP GS
1949NFLChicago Bears122
1950NFLBaltimore Colts10
1950NFLChicago Bears110
1951NFLChicago Bears120
1952NFLChicago Bears123
1953NFLChicago Bears1212
1954NFLChicago Bears87
1955NFLChicago Bears122
1956NFLChicago Bears120
1957NFLChicago Bears120
1958NFLChicago Bears120
1960AFLHouston Oilers1411
1961AFLHouston Oilers1411
1962AFLHouston Oilers1414
1963AFLHouston Oilers1413
1964AFLHouston Oilers1413
1965AFLHouston Oilers1412
1966AFLHouston Oilers148
1967AFLOakland Raiders140
1968AFLOakland Raiders141
1969AFLOakland Raiders140
1970NFLOakland Raiders140
1971NFLOakland Raiders140
1972NFLOakland Raiders140
1973NFLOakland Raiders140
1974NFLOakland Raiders140
1975NFLOakland Raiders140


- AFL Hall of Fame 1st team All-1960s Team
1961 - AFL AP Player of the Year
1961 - AFL UPI Player of the Year
1970 - Bert Bell Award (Player of the Year)
1974 - Walter Payton Man of the Year


1961 - AFL AFL All-AFL (1st Team)
1961 - AFL United Press International All-AFL (1st Team)
1961 - AFL The Sporting News All-AFL (1st Team)
1961 - AFL Associated Press All-AFL (1st Team)
1961 - AFL New York Daily News All-AFL (1st Team)
1962 - AFL United Press International All-AFL (2nd Team)
1962 - AFL Associated Press All-AFL (2nd Team)
1963 - AFL Associated Press All-AFL (2nd Team)
1963 - AFL New York Daily News All-AFL (2nd Team)
1966 - AFL AFL All-AFL (2nd Team)
1967 - AFL The Sporting News All-Conference (1st Team)
1970 - Pro Football Writers Association All-NFL (2nd Team)
1973 - The Sporting News All-Conference (1st Team)