1989 Chicago Bruisers Statistics

Arena Football League (Arena League)
Team Record: 1-3
Finishing 4th in the Arena League
Postseason: 0-1 Lost Semifinal
Coach: George Brancato (1-3)
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Attendance: 6,622, Avg. 6,622 in 1 home dates
1989 Chicago Bruisers Roster
1989 Chicago Bruisers Results

The Chicago Bruisers of the Arena Football League ended the 1989 season with a record of 1 wins and 3 losses, finishing fourth in the Arena League. The team compiled a postseason mark of 0-1.

On offense, the Bruisers led the circuit with 167 points. On the other side of the ball, the defensive squad yielded 155 points. Ben Bennett threw for 808 yards. Reggie Smith snagged 30 passes, while Carl Aikens accumulated 360 receiving yards.

Darryl Clark ran for a team-best 83 yards.

Steve Thonn picked off 3 opponent throws. Ted McNairy topped pass rushers with 2 sacks.

George Brancato coached the team. The 1989 Chicago Bruisers lost in the Semifinal.

Click on column headings to sort.


Player Att Comp Comp % Yds Yds/Att TDs TD % Ints Int % Long Sacked Yds Lost Rating
Ben Bennett1276954.38086.41411.053.94242094.2
John Welch300.
Totals1306953.18086.21410.853.842 527


Player No. Yds Avg. Long TDs
Darryl Clark18834.6 5
Osia Lewis15573.8 2
Jeff Dole8293.6 0
Carl Aikens2147.0 0
Mike McDade4143.5 2
Ben Bennett781.1 2
John Welch273.5 1
Reggie Smith520.4 0


Player No. Yds Avg. Long TDs
Reggie Smith3031510.5 5
Carl Aikens1736021.2 8
Ken Sanders1010610.6 1
Mike McDade7598.4 0
Osia Lewis2115.5 0
Darryl Clark12424.0 0
Keith Williams11010.0 0
George Miller177.0 1


Player X/CA X/CM X/CP % FGA FGM FG % Pts.
Rob Houghtlin231565.21200.015

Kick Returns:

Player No. Yds Avg. Long TDs
Reggie Smith2749218.2 0
Mike McDade33913.0 0
Ken Sanders100.0 0


Player No. Yds Avg. Long TDs
Steve Thonn34013.3 1
Carl Aikens284.0 0
Darryl Clark199.0 0
Kennedy Wilson100.0 0


Player No. Yds Avg.
Ted McNairy2.00.0
George Miller1.00.0
Osia Lewis1.00.0
Dan Sellers1.00.0
Alan Donnell1.00.0

Defense and Fumbles:

Player Tackle Solo Ast Brup Fum FRec FYds FTD FF
Carl Aikens27254310
Kennedy Wilson22204200
Jeff Dole23.51811011
Keith Williams12112210
Steve Thonn12112210
George Miller880000
Osia Lewis8.573000
Darryl Clark770000
Dan Sellers652001
Alan Donnell652100
Mike McDade5.551020
Mark Young5.543000
Ken Sanders220000
Rob Houghtlin110000
Reggie Smith110100
Pete Endre110000
Ted McNairy110000

Total Scoring:

Touchdowns Other Total
Player Rush Rec Punt Kick MFG Int Fum Other FG X/C Single 2Pt Saf Points
Carl Aikens08000048
Reggie Smith050000030
Darryl Clark50000030
Rob Houghtlin0015015
Ben Bennett200012
Osia Lewis20000012
Mike McDade200000012
John Welch10006
Steve Thonn10006
Ken Sanders1000006
George Miller100006