1964 Minnesota Vikings Statistics

National Football League (NFL)
Team Record: 8-5-1
Finishing 2nd in the NFL's West Division
Coach: Norm Van Brocklin (8-5-1)
Location: Bloomington, Minnesota
1964 Minnesota Vikings Roster
1964 Minnesota Vikings Results

The Minnesota Vikings of the National Football League ended the 1964 season with a record of 8 wins and 5 losses and 1 ties, finishing second in the NFL's West Division.

The Vikings chalked up 355 points, and the defense yielded 296. Bill Brown carried the ball for a team-best 866 yards for Minnesota, and Tommy Mason also contributed to the rushing attack.

Fran Tarkenton threw for 2,506 yards. Bill Brown snagged 48 passes for 703 yards.

George Rose picked off 6 opponent throws.

Norm Van Brocklin coached the team.

Click on column headings to sort.


Player Att Comp Comp % Yds Yds/Att TDs TD % Ints Int % Long Rating
Fran Tarkenton30617155.925068.2227.2113.66491.8
Ron Kelen19736.8784.100.015.31828.0
Tommy Mason11100.03030.01100.000.030158.3


Player No. Yds Avg. Long TDs
Bill Brown2268663.848 7
Tommy Mason1696914.151 4
Fran Tarkenton503306.631 2
Tom Michel391293.314 0
Bill McWatters14604.316 1
Ted Dean5306.00
Bobby Walden11818.018 0
Darrell Lester4184.50
Bill Butler5112.20
Ron Kelen11010.010 0
Gordie Smith122.00
Tom Hall4-4-1.00
Totals51921614.251 14


Player No. Yds Avg. Long TDs
Bill Brown4870314.664 9
Paul Flatley2845016.148 3
Tommy Mason262399.229 1
Tom Hall2332514.132 2
Jerry Reichow2028414.251 2
Hal Bedsole1829516.443 5
Gordie Smith1021121.144 1
Bill McWatters2-1-0.50
Bill Butler15858.058 0
Ted Dean12323.023 0
Tom Michel11414.014 0
Larry Vargo11313.013 0
Totals179261414.664 23


Player X/CA X/CM X/CP % FGA FGM FG % Pts.
Fred Cox424095.2332163.6103


Player No. Yds Avg. Long
Bobby Walden72334146.473

Punt Returns:

Player No. Yds Avg. Long TDs
Bill Butler221567.132 0
Tommy Mason1015015.045 0
Karl Kassulke100.00
Ted Dean200.00
Totals353068.745 0

Kick Returns:

Player No. Yds Avg. Long TDs
Bill Butler2659723.034 0
Tom Michel819224.040 0
George Rose818022.538 0
Bill Brown56813.623 0
Ted Dean35016.723 0
Tommy Mason23618.025 0
Bill McWatters177.00
Totals53113021.340 0


Player No. Yds Avg. Long TDs
George Rose6488.032 1
Roy Winston3248.015 0
Karl Kassulke341.30
Rip Hawkins28542.556 2
Bill Butler2157.515 0
Jim Prestel12626.026 1
Ed Sharockman12222.022 0
Larry Vargo100.00
Totals1922411.856 4

Defense and Fumbles:

Total Scoring:

Touchdowns Other Total
Player Rush Rec Punt Kick MFG Int Fum Other FG X/C Single 2Pt Saf Points
Fred Cox21400103
Bill Brown79000096
Hal Bedsole500030
Tommy Mason410000030
Paul Flatley300018
Jerry Reichow200012
Tom Hall0200012
Fran Tarkenton200012
Rip Hawkins200012
Gordie Smith010006
Jim Prestel10006
Carl Eller10006
Bill McWatters1000006
George Rose010006


Football Search

Latest News

MNUFC and Real Salt Lake Split Points in 1-1 Draw
Posted on Saturday April 06, 2024

SAINT PAUL, Minn. -- Minnesota United and Real Salt Lake shared points after Tani Oluwaseyi scored the game-tying goal two minutes after subbing into ...

Minnesota United FC vs. Real Salt Lake Preview
Posted on Friday April 05, 2024

GOLDEN VALLEY, Minn. - Minnesota United returns to Allianz Field this Saturday to take on Real Salt Lake. MNUFC is ranked fourth in the Western Confer...

MNUFC Falls on the Road against the Philadelphia Union
Posted on Saturday March 30, 2024

CHESTER, PA. - Minnesota United lost for the first time this season, falling on the road to the Philadelphia Union, 0-2, at Subaru Park on Saturday af...

Latest News

Lynx Single Game Tickets on Sale Today
Posted on Wednesday April 10, 2024

MINNEAPOLIS/ST. PAUL - The Minnesota Lynx today announced that tickets for all 20 regular season home games for the 2024 season presented by Mayo Clin...

Offseason Outlook - April 9
Posted on Tuesday April 09, 2024

The Minnesota Lynx currently have eight players playing this offseason. Below is results from the past week and the schedule for this upcoming week....

Four-Time WNBA Champion Seimone Augustus to be Inducted into Naismith Memorial Hall of Fame
Posted on Saturday April 06, 2024

MINNEAPOLIS/ST. PAUL - The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame today announced four-time WNBA champion Seimone Augustus as one of inductees of t...