1983 Washington Federals Statistics

United States Football League (USFL)
Team Record: 4-14
Finishing 4th in the USFL's Atlantic Division
Coach: Ray Jauch (4-14)
Location: Washington, District of Columbia
Attendance: 124,636, Avg. 13,848 in 9 home dates
1983 Washington Federals Roster
1983 Washington Federals Results

The Washington Federals of the United States Football League ended the 1983 season with a record of 4 wins and 14 losses, finishing fourth in the USFL's Atlantic Division.

Washington racked up 297 points, while the shaky defensive squad allowed 442, most in the league. Kim McQuilken passed for 1,912 yards, and Mike Hohensee spent time under center, too. Billy Taylor grabbed 64 passes, while Joey Walters accumulated 959 receiving yards.

Craig James carried the ball for a team-best 823 yards for the Federals, while Billy Taylor also contributed to the rushing attack.

Doug Greene picked off 9 opponent throws. Bennie Smith and Coy Bacon each sacked quarterbacks 7 times.

Ray Jauch coached the team.

Click on column headings to sort.


Player Att Comp Comp % Yds Yds/Att TDs TD % Ints Int % Long Sacked Yds Lost Rating
Kim McQuilken33418856.319125.772.1144.2552522262.4
Mike Hohensee1909248.412976.894.773.780t1210271.3
Joe Gilliam1024039.26736.654.91211.852t21839.0
Totals62632051.138826.2213.4335.380 39342


Player No. Yds Avg. Long TDs
Craig James2028234.124 4
Billy Taylor1717574.434 5
Curtis Bledsoe261335.131 0
James Mayberry421202.911 2
Eric Robinson49972.00
Mike Hohensee19733.819 0
Kim McQuilken1390.71
Rickey Claitt111.00
Buddy Hardeman3-3-1.00
Joe Gilliam3-6-2.00
Dana Moore1-8-8.0-8 0
Totals53019963.834 12


Player No. Yds Avg. Long TDs
Billy Taylor645238.255 2
Joey Walters6395915.242 6
Craig James403428.652t2
Mike Holmes3565418.780t7
Mike Harris2644117.042 2
Eric Robinson181729.620 0
Buddy Hardeman181146.316 0
Stan Rome1215713.126 1
Vince Kinney712017.130 0
Reggie Smith68714.522 0
James Mayberry5142.80
Vince Rogusky44711.820 0
Jeff Postell4328.00
Curtis Bledsoe4256.20
Charles Chisley34715.730 0
Bubba Diggs3196.30
Walker Lee23216.019 1
Rickey Claitt22713.514 0
William Wall22010.011 0
Tony Samuels13030.030 0
Marc Brown11818.018 0
Tony Loia020
Totals320388212.180 21


Player X/CA X/CM X/CP % FGA FGM FG % Pts.
Sandro Vitiello171482.4171058.844
Obed Ariri5360.07342.912
Dale Castro3266.76350.011
Dana Moore003133.33
Ken Olson4375.0100.03


Player No. Yds Avg. Long
Dana Moore86348040.560
Steve Hoffman1554236.149

Punt Returns:

Player No. Yds Avg. Long TDs
Eric Robinson241717.129 0
Mike Guess7628.943 0
Gregg Butler8394.911 0
Buddy Hardeman5326.417 0
Reggie Smith22010.013 0
Mike Harris100.00
Jeff Postell100.00
Totals483246.843 0

Kick Returns:

Player No. Yds Avg. Long TDs
Eric Robinson2160929.094t1
Mike Guess2248622.155 0
Mike Harris1536524.371 0
Curtis Bledsoe710915.632 0
Reggie Smith58116.231 0
Louie Giammona36622.024 0
Mike Muller23417.019 0
Mike Corvino33110.313 0
Joey Walters12020.020 0
Rickey Claitt11313.013 0
Kevin McLain11212.012 0
Mike Hurst144.00
Bob Shupryt133.00
Totals83183322.194 1


Player No. Yds Avg. Long TDs
Doug Greene912113.435t1
Jeff Brown6274.522 0
Mike Guess5499.818 0
Gregg Butler22512.516 0
Don Harris11212.012 0
Mike Corvino122.00
Scott Facyson100.00
Totals252369.435 1


Player No. Yds Avg.
Bennie Smith7.0608.6
Coy Bacon7.053.57.6
Ronnie Estay6.558.59.0
Bob Barber5.0459.0
Drew Taylor4.539.58.8
Tony Suber4.04210.5
Mike Corvino2.524.59.8
Joe Harris2.519.57.8
Jeff McIntyre1.514.59.7
Mike Muller1.01111.0
Robert Cobb1.01010.0
Mike Guess1.077.0
Bob Shupryt1.055.0
Don Harris1.055.0
Doug Greene1.055.0
Eddie Jackson0.5612.0

Defense and Fumbles:

Player Tackle Brup Fum FRec FYds FTD FF
Mike Matocha1

Total Scoring:

Touchdowns Other Total
Player Rush Rec Punt Kick MFG Int Fum Other FG X/C Single 2Pt Saf Points
Sandro Vitiello00000101400044
Billy Taylor520000001044
Mike Holmes070000000042
Joey Walters060000001038
Craig James420000000036
James Mayberry200000000012
Mike Harris020000000012
Obed Ariri000003300012
Dale Castro000003200011
Walker Lee01000000006
Mike Matocha10006
Doug Greene00001000006
Eric Robinson00010000006
Kim McQuilken10000000006
Stan Rome01000000006
Ken Olson00000030003
Dana Moore00000100003
Mike Fisher00000000102