1983 Washington Redskins Statistics

National Football League (NFL)
Team Record: 14-2
Finishing 1st in the NFL's East Division of the National Football Conference
Postseason: 2-1 Lost Super Bowl
Coach: Joe Gibbs (14-2)
Location: Washington, District of Columbia
1983 Washington Redskins Roster
1983 Washington Redskins Results

The Washington Redskins of the National Football League ended the 1983 season with a record of 14 wins and 2 losses, finishing first in the NFL's East Division of the National Football Conference. The team compiled a postseason mark of 2-1.

Offensively, the Redskins led the league with 541 points. Meanwhile, the defense allowed 332 points. Joe Theismann directed the offense, slinging for 3,714 yards. Charlie Brown paced pass catchers, grabbing 78 passes for 1,225 yards.

John Riggins carried the ball for a team-best 1,347 yards.

The ball-hawking defense created 61 turnovers, topping in the league. Mark Murphy picked off 9 opponent throws. Dave Butz topped the defensive unit with 11.5 quarterback sacks, leading the way for a team which created 51 sacks.

Joe Gibbs coached the team. The 1983 Washington Redskins lost in the Super Bowl.

Click on column headings to sort.


Player Att Comp Comp % Yds Yds/Att TDs TD % Ints Int % Long Sacked Yds Lost Rating
Joe Theismann45927660.137148.1296.3112.4843424297.0
Art Monk11100.04646.000.000.04600118.8
Bob Holly11100.
John Riggins100.
Joe Washington100.
Totals46327860.037658.1296.3112.484 35251


Player No. Yds Avg. Long TDs
John Riggins37513473.644 24
Joe Washington1457725.341 0
Joe Theismann372346.322 1
Otis Wonsley25883.50
Jeff Hayes26331.548 0
Charlie Brown45313.217 0
Nick Giaquinto14533.811 1
Bob Holly4133.213 0
Reggie Evans16110.74
Rick Walker2105.011 0
Alvin Garrett200.00
Art Monk3-19-6.30
Totals62926254.248 30


Player No. Yds Avg. Long TDs
Charlie Brown78122515.775 8
Art Monk4774615.943 5
Joe Washington474549.767 6
Nick Giaquinto2737213.835 0
Alvin Garrett2533213.384 1
Don Warren2022511.233 2
Rick Walker171689.929 2
Clint Didier915317.040 4
John Riggins5295.814 0
Virgil Seay25527.539 1
Mark McGrath166.00
Totals278376513.584 29


Player X/CA X/CM X/CP % FGA FGM FG % Pts.
Mark Moseley636298.4473370.2161


Player No. Yds Avg. Long
Jeff Hayes72279638.856

Punt Returns:

Player No. Yds Avg. Long TDs
Mike Nelms382897.635 0
Virgil Seay55711.442 0
Darrell Green4297.218 0
Nick Giaquinto2126.012 0
Totals493877.942 0

Kick Returns:

Player No. Yds Avg. Long TDs
Mike Nelms3580222.941 0
Virgil Seay921824.250 0
Reggie Evans1014114.128 0
Alvin Garrett25025.028 0
Otis Wonsley23618.020 0
Pete Cronan11717.017 0
Joe Washington11616.016 0
John Sawyer11515.015 0
Greg Williams166.00
Nick Giaquinto100.00
Totals63130120.750 0


Player No. Yds Avg. Long TDs
Mark Murphy912714.148 0
Vernon Dean55410.826 0
Ken Coffey46215.529 0
Anthony Washington4123.00
Mel Kaufman29346.570 1
Greg Williams22512.525 0
Rich Milot22010.020 0
Darrell Green273.50
Curtis Jordan12020.020 0
Neal Olkewicz11414.014 0
Brian Carpenter122.00
Dexter Manley111.00
Totals3443712.970 1


Player No. Yds Avg.
Dave Butz11.50.0
Dexter Manley11.00.0
Tony McGee10.00.0
Charles Mann3.00.0
Darryl Grant2.50.0
Perry Brooks2.50.0
Monte Coleman2.00.0
Neal Olkewicz2.00.0
Rich Milot1.50.0
Mel Kaufman1.50.0
Todd Liebenstein1.50.0
Mark Murphy1.00.0
Ken Coffey1.00.0

Defense and Fumbles:

Total Scoring:

Touchdowns Other Total
Player Rush Rec Punt Kick MFG Int Fum Other FG X/C Single 2Pt Saf Points
Mark Moseley33620161
John Riggins240000144
Charlie Brown0800048
Joe Washington06000036
Art Monk0500030
Clint Didier4100030
Reggie Evans4000024
Rick Walker0200012
Don Warren200012
Mel Kaufman1100012
Alvin Garrett0100006
Joe Theismann10006
Vernon Dean010006
Virgil Seay1000006
Nick Giaquinto10000006
Charles Mann00012


Recent Updates

  • January 14, 2022 - Corrected an issue affecting 2021 NFL kicking and punting statistics
  • January 10, 2022 - Added 1920 APFA through 1929 NFL game results
Football Search

Latest News

Coaching Staff Finalized for WNT February Camp and Competition
Posted on Wednesday January 19, 2022

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colorado (Jan. 19, 2022) -WNBA head coaches Vickie Johnson (Dallas Wings), Curt Miller (Connecticut Sun), Mike Thibault (Washington ...

Washington Mystics to Pick First in 2022 WNBA Draft
Posted on Sunday December 19, 2021

WASHIGNTON, D.C. - The Washington Mystics will have the first overall selection in the 2022 WNBA Draft after jumping up two spots in the WNBA Draft Lo...

Chamique Holdsclaw to Represent Mystics at 2022 WNBA Draft Lottery
Posted on Wednesday December 15, 2021

WASHINGTON, D.C. - Former Washington Mystics forward Chamique Holdsclaw will represent the team in the 2022 WNBA Draft Lottery on Dec. 19. The Draft L...