1983-84 New York Arrows Statistics

Major Indoor Soccer League (MISL)
Team Record: 20-28
in the MISL's Eastern Division
Postseason: 1-3
Lost Division Semifinal
Coach: Jim McGeough (2-8)
Coach: Joe Machnik (13-14)
Coach: Shep Messing (5-6)
Location: Uniondale, New York
Attendance: 131,472, Avg. 5,478 in 24 home dates
1983-84 New York Arrows Roster

The New York Arrows of the Major Indoor Soccer League ended the 1983-84 season with a record of 20 wins and 28 losses in the MISL's Eastern Division. The team compiled a postseason mark of 1-3.

New York scored 232 goals and allowed 280. Mark Liveric netted 58 goals for the Arrows, while Michael Collins, Mike Laschev, Njego Pesa, Fred Grgurev and Dragan Simic each contributed fifteen or more, too. Fred Grgurev accounted for 28 assists. Shep Messing topped the squad with 11 wins. Zoltan Toth recorded a 4.38 goals against average, leading regular keepers.

Jim McGeough, Joe Machnik and Shep Messing coached the team. The 1983-84 New York Arrows lost in the Division Semifinal.

Click on column headings to sort.


Player Pos GP G A Pts PIM PPG SHG GWG FC BL Shts S%
Mark LivericF4858268418000
Fred GrgurevD30282856180617715.8
Mike LaschevF3525194410000
Michael CollinsM45162238320220
Dragan SimicM421517328000
Val TuksaD46131528340741478.8
Njego PesaF271882613000
George UkovskiM391192014000
Claudio RochaM1739120000
Gary EtheringtonD407411200314914.3
Joe UlrichD47651126000
Tommy MulroyD2582100000
Renato CilaD452810320860
Doc LawsonD3336929000
Dave LischnerF255386000
Soloman HiltonF174480000
Nick MegaloudisD322681800414.9
Ron AtanasioF102572000
Ray VigliottiD182244000
Roberto DeSousaF203036000
Marcelo FerreiraM101014000
Nick SackiewiczGK20000000000
Tony JohnsonF40002000
John Van OostveenG60000000
Zoltan TothG160008000
Shep MessingG310008000


Player GP Min W L GA GAA Shts SVS SV%
John Van Oostveen6371:0014243.8817198.573
Zoltan Toth16932:0086684.38476278.584
Shep Messing311604:0011181575.87777359.462
Nick Sackiewicz238:0000812.63188.444

Postseason - Scoring:

Player Pos GP G A Pts PIM PPG SHG GWG FC BL Shts S%
Mark LivericF392114000000
Mike LaschevF31014000000
Michael CollinsM41456000000
Dragan SimicM41342000000
Val TuksaD401120000070.0
George UkovskiM43146000000
Gary EtheringtonD401120000260.0
Joe UlrichD40000000000
Tommy MulroyD31120000000
Renato CilaD302210000000
Doc LawsonD42130000000
Soloman HiltonF20000000000
Nick MegaloudisD30002000000
Ron AtanasioF42020000000
Ray VigliottiD10000000000
Roberto DeSousaF42462000000
Zoltan TothG30004000000
Shep MessingG20004000000

Postseason - Goalkeepers:

Player GP Min W L GA GAA Shts SVS SV%
Zoltan Toth3117:0002157.695933.559
Shep Messing2111:00112010.816427.422