1982-83 Chicago Sting Statistics

Major Indoor Soccer League (MISL)
Team Record: 28-20
in the MISL's Eastern Division
Postseason: 1-2
Lost Division Semifinal
Coach: Willy Roy (28-20)
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Attendance: 220,815, Avg. 9,201 in 24 home dates
1982-83 Chicago Sting Roster

The Chicago Sting of the Major Indoor Soccer League ended the 1982-83 season with a record of 28 wins and 20 losses in the MISL's Eastern Division. The team compiled a postseason mark of 1-2.

The Sting chalked up 285 goals and gave up 239. Karl-Heinz Granitza scored 51 goals for Chicago, while Charlie Fajkus, Pato Margetic, Tasso Koutsoukos, Ingo Peter and Ricardo Alonso each netted fifteen or more as well. Pato Margetic and Karl-Heinz Granitza each recorded 33 assists. Victor Nogueira topped the squad with 14 wins and a team-best 4.58 goals against average, leading keepers with significant playing time.

Willy Roy coached the team. The 1982-83 Chicago Sting lost in the Division Semifinal.

Click on column headings to sort.


Player Pos GP G A Pts PIM PPG SHG GWG FC BL Shts S%
Karl-Heinz GranitzaF46513384200524420.9
Pato MargeticF47413374180115626.3
Tasso KoutsoukosM4136205600819218.8
Charlie FajkusM47282654603110726.2
Ingo PeterM452622483604122311.7
Hans WeinerD38142034100129914.1
Mike TwellmanD2613203320101968.4
Tim TwellmanD44132033240348315.7
Ricardo AlonsoF22248322101010423.1
Robert VosmaerD42101424220808112.3
Rudy GlennD3391221220244122.0
Bret HallD485121714039539.4
Mark SimantonD285111640113215.6
Gordon HillF11103136003627.8
Greg RyanD34671340243915.4
Young Jueng ChoD39661260404314.0
Victor NogueiraG2904440010.0
John TymaF23123003812.5
Paul CoffeeG90226000
Don DroegeD1001100620.0
Hans HenriksenD10000000
Ivan BelfioreD10000000000
Alex VaymanD40000010
Derek SpaldingD400012016420.0
Diego CastroF1500000120.0
Dieter FernerG250006000


Player GP Min W L GA GAA Shts SVS SV%
Ricardo Alonso12:000000.0000
Victor Nogueira281441:0014121104.58696380.546
Dieter Ferner241090:00116935.12508263.518
Paul Coffee12371:0032335.3416977.456
Tim Twellman49:0000213.3342.500
Charlie Fajkus23:0000120.0010.000

Postseason - Scoring:

Player Pos GP G A Pts PIM PPG SHG GWG FC BL Shts S%
Karl-Heinz GranitzaF34370100002218.2
Pato MargeticF3101010000812.5
Tasso KoutsoukosM31120000001010.0
Charlie FajkusM3101010000520.0
Ingo PeterM33474000051717.6
Hans WeinerD3112010000128.3
Tim TwellmanD3123400102714.3
Ricardo AlonsoF100000000030.0
Robert VosmaerD302240000210.0
Rudy GlennD3224400001825.0
Bret HallD201100000310.0
Mark SimantonD3314200004560.0
Greg RyanD3112000000425.0
Young Jueng ChoD300000000630.0
Victor NogueiraG30000000000
Don DroegeD300000000010.0

Postseason - Goalkeepers:

Player GP Min W L GA GAA Shts SVS SV%
Ricardo Alonso14:0000115.0010.000
Victor Nogueira3176:0012165.458445.536