1983-84 Chicago Sting Statistics

North American Soccer League (Indoor) (NASL Indoor)
Team Record: 20-12
in the NASL Indoor
Postseason: 1-2
Coach: Willy Roy (20-12)
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Attendance: 189,228, Avg. 11,827 in 16 home dates
1983-84 Chicago Sting Roster

The Chicago Sting of the North American Soccer League (Indoor) ended the 1983-84 season with a record of 20 wins and 12 losses in the NASL Indoor. The team compiled a postseason mark of 1-2.

The Sting netted 219 goals, tops in the circuit. Chicago conceded 198 goals. Karl-Heinz Granitza scored 59 goals for the team, while Charlie Fajkus and Pato Margetic contributed fifteen or more, too. Karl-Heinz Granitza recorded 33 assists. Victor Nogueira topped the squad with 20 wins and a team-best 4.36 goals against average, leading keepers with significant playing time.

Willy Roy coached the team.

Click on column headings to sort.


Player Pos GP G A Pts PIM PPG SHG GWG FC BL Shts S%
Karl-Heinz GranitzaF32593392869122925.8
Pato MargeticF2323244783259524.2
Charlie FajkusM322219414312810521.0
Hans WeinerM27111324245165022.0
Rudy GlennD3111122326103446516.9
Ingo PeterM177916431104615.2
Ricardo AlonsoF181141521734524.4
Greg RyanD259514434434122.0
Dale RussellF1957121851143116.1
Mark SimantonM3047111475212814.3
Dave HusonD17641001482128.6
John McGraneD233581452301127.3
Elvis ComrieF162466214248.3
Pat McGauleyD/M,F1631442191421.4
Diego CastroF4134031616.7
Mike TwellmanD131344251156.7
Mike FloodM112130157728.6
Dubravko LedicM11033219760.0
Peter GruberD18033105019130.0
Victor NogueiraG3203387020.0
Victor KodeljaF5112023137.7
Chris KennyD81120136333.3
David KempF8101291119.1
Ed GettemeierG30000000


Player GP Min W L GA GAA Shts SVS SV%
Victor Nogueira321873:0020101364.36883476.539
Ed Gettemeier391:5602117.185028.560
Ricardo Alonso11:4600133.9610.000

Postseason - Scoring:

Player Pos GP G A Pts PIM PPG SHG GWG FC BL Shts S%
Karl-Heinz GranitzaF3437200021850.0
Pato MargeticF33580001401717.6
Charlie FajkusM36062100621154.5
Hans WeinerM301120009030.0
Rudy GlennD10000000200
Ingo PeterM3022000052150.0
Ricardo AlonsoF200000007240.0
Greg RyanD3123000020616.7
Dale RussellF10000000100
Mark SimantonM300000008040.0
Elvis ComrieF2202000010825.0
Pat McGauleyD/M,F301100002150.0
Mike FloodM300000001110.0
Dubravko LedicM3011000015670.0
Victor NogueiraG30110000200
Chris KennyD3112201062714.3

Postseason - Goalkeepers:

Player GP Min W L GA GAA Shts SVS SV%
Victor Nogueira3180:0012155.006836.529