1984-85 Chicago Sting Statistics

Major Indoor Soccer League (MISL)
Team Record: 28-20
in the MISL's Eastern Division
Postseason: 1-3
Lost Division Semifinal
Coach: Willy Roy (28-20)
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Attendance: 255,073, Avg. 10,628 in 24 home dates
1984-85 Chicago Sting Roster

The Chicago Sting of the Major Indoor Soccer League ended the 1984-85 season with a record of 28 wins and 20 losses in the MISL's Eastern Division. The team compiled a postseason mark of 1-3.

Chicago scored 261 goals and surrendered 223. Karl-Heinz Granitza netted 64 goals for the Sting, while Gerry Gray, Manny Rojas, Neill Roberts, Robert Meschbach and Mike Laschev each tallied fifteen or more, too. Karl-Heinz Granitza recorded 53 assists. Victor Nogueira earned 23 wins in front of the net for the squad and a team-best 4.34 goals against average, leading qualifying goalkeepers.

Willy Roy coached the team. The 1984-85 Chicago Sting lost in the Division Semifinal.

Click on column headings to sort.


Player Pos GP G A Pts PIM PPG SHG GWG FC BL Shts S%
Karl-Heinz GranitzaF476453117180226823.9
Gerry GrayM2418405840188521.2
Manny RojasM4217304720119717.5
Mike LaschevD412815438079031.1
Neill RobertsF36221234120238027.5
Pato MargeticF111412262014332.6
Robert MeschbachF27154190000
Pat McGauleyF4312517100406917.4
Victor MorelandD3811516160536018.3
Derek SpaldingM4110616100569011.1
Chico MoreiraD23871540105016.0
Hayden KnightM31761320122330.4
Frantz MathieuD395813160363215.6
Mark SimantonD4131013100452711.1
Val FernandesM43831120343920.5
Frank KlopasM3647110072119.0
Andrew ParkinsonM123582042015.0
Rudy GlennD2332540152213.6
Dan CanterD162356025258.0
Germain IglesiasM133140021816.7
Victor NogueiraG4304460050.0
Eric GeyerD17213004728.6
Lou StojanovicD2021300
Dave HusonD1511270111010.0
Victor KodeljaF51010000
Blagoje TamindzicG30002000
Tom ReynoldsGK300000
Pete KnezicF300000
Greg RyanD100000000
Lou CioffiG1200020010.0


Player GP Min W L GA GAA Shts SVS SV%
Tom Reynolds30:0000000
Derek Spalding11:160000.0000
Val Fernandes418:530000.00331.000
Victor Nogueira432239:0023151624.34994501.504
Lou Cioffi12483:0245415.0921998.447
Blagoje Tamindzic3152:2310197.488937.416
Neill Roberts26:450018.8910.000

Postseason - Scoring:

Player Pos GP G A Pts PIM PPG SHG GWG FC BL Shts S%
Karl-Heinz GranitzaF491102101003625.0
Manny RojasM301120000040.0
Mike LaschevD42357000001513.3
Neill RobertsF4101000003911.1
Pato MargeticF304400000230.0
Pat McGauleyF300020000520.0
Victor MorelandD41232000081010.0
Derek SpaldingM300000000190.0
Chico MoreiraD4101000001911.1
Hayden KnightM3123001003520.0
Frantz MathieuD400020000740.0
Mark SimantonD200000000030.0
Val FernandesM3112000002333.3
Frank KlopasM4112200002616.7
Andrew ParkinsonM200000000030.0
Rudy GlennD400000000210.0
Dan CanterD200000000280.0
Germain IglesiasM101100000120.0
Victor NogueiraG40000000000
Lou CioffiG10000000000

Postseason - Goalkeepers:

Player GP Min W L GA GAA Shts SVS SV%
Victor Nogueira4218:2313174.689442.447
Lou Cioffi137:090034.86168.500