1983-84 San Diego Sockers Statistics

North American Soccer League (Indoor) (NASL Indoor)
Team Record: 21-11
in the NASL Indoor
Postseason: 5-0
Won Championship
Coach: Ron Newman (21-11)
Location: San Diego, California
Attendance: 182,633, Avg. 11,415 in 16 home dates
1983-84 San Diego Sockers Roster

The San Diego Sockers of the North American Soccer League (Indoor) ended the 1983-84 season with a record of 21 wins and 11 losses in the NASL Indoor. The team compiled a postseason mark of 5-0.

The Sockers conceded 148 goals, the lowest total in the circuit. San Diego recorded 196 goals. Juli Veee scored 45 goals for the team, while Kaz Deyna, Brian Quinn and Jean Willrich each tallied fifteen or more, too. Juli Veee recorded 29 assists. Jim Gorsek topped the squad with 14 wins and a team-best 4.08 goals against average, pacing goalkeepers with enough qualifying appearances.

Ron Newman coached the team. The 1983-84 San Diego Sockers won the Championship.

Click on column headings to sort.


Player Pos GP G A Pts PIM PPG SHG GWG FC BL Shts S%
Juli VeeeM284529743177415529.0
Kaz DeynaM27282452413612722.0
Jean WillrichF292425492392513018.5
Brian QuinnM3225113619552511222.3
Hugo PerezF208152383736512.3
Ade CokerF131151642713729.7
Gert WieczorkowskiD28412161323213312.1
Kevin CrowD236915423303020.0
Eric GeyerD238412417203622.2
Asghar NamdarF30571223120608.3
Lorenz HilkesF15741142043718.9
Paulo MouraD237310220143917.9
Guy NewmanD30549840842123.8
Peter SkourasM2236922212114.3
Martin DonnellyD194371849272416.7
Vidal FernandezM5145060520.0
Gerry O'KaneM8303481475.0
Gary CollierD322131446571513.3
Willy MorcilloF402223010.0
Alan MayerG1402210700
Jim GorsekG1702203010.0


Player GP Min W L GA GAA Shts SVS SV%
Asghar Namdar25:390000.0000
Lorenz Hilkes725:330012.3553.600
Jim Gorsek181073:46144734.08531257.484
Alan Mayer14805:3777715.29380168.442
Kaz Deyna24:5100112.3710.000
Brian Quinn33:5600115.2510.000
Martin Donnelly11:5400131.5810.000

Postseason - Scoring:

Player Pos GP G A Pts PIM PPG SHG GWG FC BL Shts S%
Juli VeeeM545920001313013.3
Kaz DeynaM55052100331631.3
Jean WillrichF573102101643321.2
Brian QuinnM5178400196166.3
Hugo PerezF554900001002321.7
Ade CokerF54152201921330.8
Kevin CrowD544800023101136.4
Eric GeyerD100000000220.0
Asghar NamdarF5112201045812.5
Lorenz HilkesF40220000920
Guy NewmanD5022000061040.0
Peter SkourasM2101000010250.0
Martin DonnellyD5112400077616.7
Gerry O'KaneM4101600035714.3
Gary CollierD100000001120.0
Willy MorcilloF10000000020
Jim GorsekG50114000200

Postseason - Goalkeepers:

Player GP Min W L GA GAA Shts SVS SV%
Jim Gorsek5300:0050132.6014572.497