1986-87 Kansas City Comets Statistics

Major Indoor Soccer League (MISL)
Team Record: 28-24
in the MISL's Western Division
Postseason: 2-3
Lost Division Semifinal
Coach: Rick Benben (9-11)
Coach: Stojan Nikolic (1-3)
Coach: Dave Clements (18-10)
Location: Kansas City, Missouri
Attendance: 323,622, Avg. 12,447 in 26 home dates
1986-87 Kansas City Comets Roster

The Kansas City Comets of the Major Indoor Soccer League ended the 1986-87 season with a record of 28 wins and 24 losses in the MISL's Western Division. The team compiled a postseason mark of 2-3.

The Comets led the league with 271 goals. Kansas City surrendered 253 goals. Jan Goossens and Dale Mitchell scored 51 goals each for the squad, while Gino Schiraldi, Pato Margetic, Damir Haramina and Charlie Greene each netted fifteen or more also. Jan Goossens contributed 44 assists. Alan Mayer topped the team with 22 wins and a team-best 4.19 goals against average, pacing goalkeepers with enough qualifying appearances.

Rick Benben, Stojan Nikolic and Dave Clements coached the team. The 1986-87 Kansas City Comets lost in the Division Semifinal.

Click on column headings to sort.


Player Pos GP G A Pts PIM PPG SHG GWG FC BL Shts S%
Jan GoossensF45514495803625220.2
Dale MitchellF4851247560617529.1
Damir HaraminaF45422264801821619.4
Pato MargeticF46253762201812220.5
Louie NanchoffF2714163040116023.3
Gino SchiraldiD45151328100826224.2
Charlie GreeneD52161127160498419.0
John BainM22119202095719.3
Charlie FajkusM345121720153215.6
Tasso KoutsoukosM18106162075617.9
Jorgen KristensenM17510154081631.3
Jorge EspinozaD477310401123917.9
Dave BoncekD47549100323116.1
Jim SchwabD1826840221216.7
Alan MayerG3908824000
Tim ClarkD3525714057316.5
Jens BuskD13145208119.1
Jeff Kraft11120001100.0
Iain FraserD301128034137.7
Tom KainD901140110.0
Ed GettemeierG170114000
Gary CollierD250112052160.0
Edmond RugovaF000000260.0
Martin ZimmermanF10000000
Yilmaz OrhanF5000001130.0


Player GP Min W L GA GAA Shts SVS SV%
Alan Mayer392307:1822161614.191144562.491
Ed Gettemeier17852:4368755.28404185.458
Charlie Greene824:1100512.41144.286
John Bain1232:2500814.81110.000
Jim Schwab13:5000231.3031.333

Postseason - Scoring:

Player Pos GP G A Pts PIM PPG SHG GWG FC BL Shts S%
Jan GoossensF54372100013312.1
Dale MitchellF5347020001933.3
Damir HaraminaF1101210000616.7
Pato MargeticF52570000001414.3
Gino SchiraldiD2303020100475.0
Charlie GreeneD52240010031118.2
Charlie FajkusM4202010004825.0
Tasso KoutsoukosM54590201011233.3
Jorge EspinozaD301100000210.0
Dave BoncekD500000000210.0
Alan MayerG50002000000
Tim ClarkD5101600003425.0
Jens BuskD5314210003560.0
Iain FraserD501100000320.0
Gary CollierD501140000840.0

Postseason - Goalkeepers:

Player GP Min W L GA GAA Shts SVS SV%
Iain Fraser10:4900000
Alan Mayer5298:0123255.0312363.512
Charlie Greene37:0800217.1420.000