1979-80 Wichita Wings Statistics

Major Indoor Soccer League (MISL)
Team Record: 16-16
in the MISL's Western Division
Postseason: 1-2
Lost Division Final
Coach: Roy Turner (16-16)
Location: Wichita, Kansas
Attendance: 61,618, Avg. 3,851 in 16 home dates
1979-80 Wichita Wings Roster

The Wichita Wings of the Major Indoor Soccer League ended the 1979-80 season with a record of 16 wins and 16 losses in the MISL's Western Division. The team compiled a postseason mark of 1-2.

Wichita recorded 187 goals and surrendered 173. Omar Gomez scored 28 goals for the Wings, while Norman Piper, Kevin Kewley, Jim Ryan and Willie Anderson each contributed fifteen or more also. Jim Ryan recorded 29 assists. Keith Van Eron topped the squad with 10 wins and a team-best 5.09 goals against average, leading qualifying goalkeepers.

Roy Turner coached the team. The 1979-80 Wichita Wings lost in the Division Final.

Click on column headings to sort.


Player Pos GP G A Pts PIM PPG SHG GWG FC BL Shts S%
Jim RyanF2926295510000
Omar GomezM1928134110009330.1
Kevin KewleyD2820193924000
Norman PiperM301821390000
George LeyD2910192918000
Andy ChapmanF171113240000
Willie AndersonF18156212000
Garry AyreD251441810000
Frank BartonD27981714000
Freddie GarciaM29115164000
Chris CollinsD31112134000
Art WelchF114374000
Keith GehlingD273478000
Glenn MyernickD1514514000
Joe HowarthD2931418000
Juan Carlos MichiaF4112200616.7
Mike CusterF51120000
Carl ChristensenD281120000
Keith Van EronG200228000
Ceasar CervinF200112000
Mike HobgoodF10000000
Roland SikingerG30002000
Mike IvanowG140002000


Player GP Min W L GA GAA Shts SVS SV%
Brad Higgs20:0000000
Keith Van Eron201050:00108895.09805336.417
Mike Ivanow14792:0066705.30511269.526
Roland Sikinger386:0002128.377333.452

Postseason - Scoring:

Player Pos GP G A Pts PIM PPG SHG GWG FC BL Shts S%
Jim RyanF31342000000
Omar GomezM34264001001625.0
Kevin KewleyD34150200000
Norman PiperM31120000000
George LeyD32024100000
Andy ChapmanF21122000000
Willie AndersonF30330000000
Frank BartonD30220000000
Keith GehlingD30000000000
Glenn MyernickD30000000000
Joe HowarthD30004000000
Mike CusterF30000000000
Carl ChristensenD20000000000
Keith Van EronG30000000000

Postseason - Goalkeepers:

Player GP Min W L GA GAA Shts SVS SV%
Keith Van Eron3185:0012144.5413358.436


Recent Updates

  • February 21, 2024 - Updated MLS player and coach awards
  • February 19, 2024 - Updated MLS coaching records
Soccer Search