1980-81 Wichita Wings Statistics

Major Indoor Soccer League (MISL)
Team Record: 23-17
in the MISL's Western Division
Postseason: 2-2
Lost Semifinal
Coach: Roy Turner (23-17)
Location: Wichita, Kansas
Attendance: 116,495, Avg. 5,295 in 22 home dates
1980-81 Wichita Wings Roster

The Wichita Wings of the Major Indoor Soccer League ended the 1980-81 season with a record of 23 wins and 17 losses in the MISL's Western Division. The team compiled a postseason mark of 2-2.

The Wings netted 228 goals and allowed 181. Andy Chapman scored 29 goals for Wichita, while Helmut Dudek, Norman Piper, Kevin Kewley, Jim Ryan, Steve Earle and Kim Roentved each contributed fifteen or more, too. Jorgen Kristensen recorded 52 assists. Mike Dowler topped the squad with 16 wins and a team-best 4.12 goals against average, leading goalkeepers with enough qualifying appearances.

Roy Turner coached the team. The 1980-81 Wichita Wings lost in the Semifinal.

Click on column headings to sort.


Player Pos GP G A Pts PIM PPG SHG GWG FC BL Shts S%
Jorgen KristensenM3814526612000
Kevin KewleyD3926325829000
Jim RyanF372725528000
Kim RoentvedD4028144225000
Andy ChapmanF3229124114000
Norman PiperM301916354000
Steve EarleF38259348000
Helmut DudekD382272910000
Brian TinnionF2178152000
Don TobinM321041410000
George LeyD37861420000
Keith GehlingD394482000
Mike PowersM194042000
Joe HowarthD3722412000
Mike CusterF392244000
Hank LiotartD2612310000
Mike DowlerG40228000
Mike HobgoodF10000000
Keith Van EronG80004000
Brad HiggsG100002000


Player GP Min W L GA GAA Shts SVS SV%
Kim Roentved46:000000.0020.000
Kevin Kewley11:000000.0000
Mike Dowler281616:0016121114.121270589.464
Keith Van Eron8405:0052314.59315127.403
Brad Higgs10383:0023396.11292120.411

Postseason - Scoring:

Player Pos GP G A Pts PIM PPG SHG GWG FC BL Shts S%
Jorgen KristensenM42130000000
Kevin KewleyD43360000000
Jim RyanF30220000000
Kim RoentvedD43252100000
Andy ChapmanF4110110001000
Norman PiperM10000000000
Steve EarleF20000000000
Helmut DudekD40224000000
Brian TinnionF22240100000
Don TobinM42350000000
George LeyD41122001000
Keith GehlingD30000000000
Mike PowersM40000000000
Joe HowarthD40000000000
Mike CusterF20000000000
Hank LiotartD40330000000
Mike DowlerG40110000000
Brad HiggsG10000000000

Postseason - Goalkeepers:

Player GP Min W L GA GAA Shts SVS SV%
Mike Dowler4225:0021195.0717576.434
Brad Higgs118:0001310.00117.636