1983-84 Wichita Wings Statistics

Major Indoor Soccer League (MISL)
Team Record: 25-23
in the MISL's Western Division
Postseason: 3-4
Lost Division Final
Coach: Roy Turner (25-23)
Location: Wichita, Kansas
Attendance: 216,824, Avg. 9,034 in 24 home dates
1983-84 Wichita Wings Roster

The Wichita Wings of the Major Indoor Soccer League ended the 1983-84 season with a record of 25 wins and 23 losses in the MISL's Western Division. The team compiled a postseason mark of 3-4.

The Wings recorded 237 goals and conceded 228. Andy Chapman scored 53 goals for Wichita, while Jan Van Der Veen, Omar Gomez, Kim Roentved, Jorgen Kristensen and Jeff Bourne each netted fifteen or more also. Jorgen Kristensen recorded 45 assists. Mike Dowler earned 25 wins in front of the net for the squad and a team-best 4.32 goals against average, leading goalkeepers with enough qualifying appearances.

Roy Turner coached the team. The 1983-84 Wichita Wings lost in the Division Final.

Click on column headings to sort.


Player Pos GP G A Pts PIM PPG SHG GWG FC BL Shts S%
Andy ChapmanF4653217422050
Jorgen KristensenM39174562180130
Kim RoentvedD36273360140640
Jeff BourneF40461258100110
Omar GomezM3016233918040
Jan Van Der VeenM40161834160200
Ian AndersonD46121224120650
Kevin KewleyD3310132360270
Norman PiperM418142240240
Frank RasmussenM476131940140
Gregg WillinD4812315180560
Terry NichollM475510160200
Per RoentvedD2363960260
Clyde WatsonM211340050
Tony PesznekerD4020220390
Miguel FilardoF131124000
Mike DowlerG460226000
Dave PierceD10000000
Mark SnellG20002000
Oscar Ortiz30000000
Jan MadsenG30002000


Player GP Min W L GA GAA Shts SVS SV%
Kim Roentved414:000014.2974.571
Mike Dowler462724:0025211964.321192618.518
Mark Snell271:000186.76258.320
Jan Madsen370:0001108.572918.621
Norman Piper921:0000411.4373.429
Kevin Kewley514:0000312.8630.000
Frank Rasmussen413:0000418.4650.000

Postseason - Scoring:

Player Pos GP G A Pts PIM PPG SHG GWG FC BL Shts S%
Andy ChapmanF795142000000
Jorgen KristensenM41452000000
Kim RoentvedD74372010000
Omar GomezM71061610002000
Jan Van Der VeenM764104000000
Ian AndersonD72134000000
Kevin KewleyD61234000000
Norman PiperM71230000000
Frank RasmussenM71342000000
Gregg WillinD72358000000
Terry NichollM70110000000
Per RoentvedD51012000000
Clyde WatsonM50002000000
Tony PesznekerD50000000000
Miguel FilardoF10110000000
Mike DowlerG70000000000

Postseason - Goalkeepers:

Player GP Min W L GA GAA Shts SVS SV%
Mike Dowler7398:0033345.1317692.523