1984-85 San Diego Sockers Statistics

Major Indoor Soccer League (MISL)
Team Record: 37-11
in the MISL's Western Division
Postseason: 10-3
Won Championship
Coach: Ron Newman (37-11)
Location: San Diego, California
Attendance: 230,272, Avg. 9,595 in 24 home dates
1984-85 San Diego Sockers Roster

The San Diego Sockers of the Major Indoor Soccer League ended the 1984-85 season with a record of 37 wins and 11 losses in the MISL's Western Division. The team compiled a postseason mark of 10-3.

San Diego paced the league with 302 goals. The club allowed 201 goals. Steve Zungul scored 68 goals for the Sockers, while Ade Coker, Kaz Deyna, Brian Quinn, Jean Willrich, Hugo Perez and Branko Segota each contributed fifteen or more as well. Steve Zungul accounted for 68 assists. Jim Gorsek topped the squad with 19 wins, plus Zoltan Toth added 15 or more wins, too. Jim Gorsek recorded a 4.04 goals against average, pacing keepers with significant playing time.

Ron Newman coached the team. The 1984-85 San Diego Sockers won the Championship.

Click on column headings to sort.


Player Pos GP G A Pts PIM PPG SHG GWG FC BL Shts S%
Steve ZungulF4868681366601128024.3
Branko SegotaM46664010622671025725.7
Jean WillrichM4843438610613325317.0
Kaz DeynaM41302151015913921.6
Brian QuinnM451723402496379817.3
Hugo PerezM2723143763347929.1
Ade CokerF201631922454634.8
Asghar NamdarM4571017228373818.4
Kevin CrowD47410141039113527.7
Steve DaleyM384913639163710.8
Zoltan TothG24011114200
Fernando ClavijoD39549666472520.0
George KatakalidisD48279166461405.0
Jacques LadouceurM2852703453613.9
Paulo MouraM129437010282516.0
Brian SchmetzerD32336423221717.6
Waad HirmezD12303036933.3
Jim GorsekG3003360010.0
Raffaele RuotoloM19101273520.0
Gary CollierD270112295080.0
Caleb SuriF600003010.0
Eric GeyerD800004220.0


Player GP Min W L GA GAA Shts SVS SV%
Kaz Deyna10:030000.0000
Steve Zungul49:020000.0000
Brian Quinn11:570000.0000
Jim Gorsek301665:101981124.04803381.474
Zoltan Toth241239:51183874.21631328.520
Kevin Crow78:300017.0621.500
Fernando Clavijo22:1100127.4810.000

Postseason - Scoring:

Player Pos GP G A Pts PIM PPG SHG GWG FC BL Shts S%
Steve ZungulF1313243707021676021.7
Branko SegotaM1322830103012459822.4
Jean WillrichM13111223240324106217.7
Kaz DeynaM1385132101233721.6
Brian QuinnM1311112200022584126.8
Hugo PerezM57184001611838.9
Ade CokerF13213200091728.6
Asghar NamdarM131010000517812.5
Kevin CrowD13336800012341816.7
Steve DaleyM900000007220.0
Zoltan TothG50000000000
Fernando ClavijoD13213202013241020.0
George KatakalidisD130446000171860.0
Jacques LadouceurM122020000150238.7
Paulo MouraM10000000000
Brian SchmetzerD13134100001913812.5
Waad HirmezD1101000000250.0
Jim GorsekG90002000000
Gary CollierD80110000550

Postseason - Goalkeepers:

Player GP Min W L GA GAA Shts SVS SV%
Jim Gorsek9516:5571212.4420285.421
Zoltan Toth5283:5032285.9416281.500
Kevin Crow37:1500217.1420.000